HRRL 2019/20 Race 5 : 1 Dec 2019 Victory 5

1st Man Matt Bergin (Bedford) 23.40

1st Woman Lucy Reid (Tonbridge) 27.05*(19)

15 Tom Stevens SM 26.34

17 Dave Coak SM 26.50 (PB)

27 Tom Cully SM 27.31

44 Andrew Lewis SM 28.19 (PB)

79 Jim Bennett V50 29.27

162 Noel O’Dowd V60 32.32

540 Lara Bracher V40 43.50

815 Finishers

The Victory 5 is a positively ancient race being in its 73rd year and there have been a number of incarnations and tweaks along the way in recent years .This year organisers were faced with works on the Lakeside site itself that necessitated a last minute change to the course. It was twisty but still quick.

The pre race favourite and defending champion had another race to attend to so it was a case of Adam Clarke out Matt Bergin and Matt powered around in a faster time than in Adams 2018 victory . The womans race was won by Lucy Reid who claimed a notable scalp in Charlotte Purdue (Aldershot) defeating her by ten seconds*

Both Dave Coak and Andy Lewis achieved P.B’s the former showing over a 30 second improvement whilst it was particularly good to see Noel O’Dowd back running well after a lot of problems with an injury over a lengthy period.

Incidentally the mens team remained in 9th position in Division 1 after Gosport but the strong team performance yesterday should result in an upward movement.

*In fact that was what happened in 2018 however Lucy Reid recorded an almost identical time in 2019 defeating Maisie Trafford (Arena 80) by a more comfortable margin. Apologies.